My Week Back With A Mushy Brain

So for some reason today my brain is just absolutely mush. Before that happened I did manage to write my weekly Buff Buddies post on the Rooster Teeth website. I’ll grant that I put that up today rather than Thursday/Friday as usual, so that doesn’t actually count as points in my favor.

This week was pretty mentally foggy overall, since I flew back on Monday, went from the airport to my place, dropped my stuff, walked to the library, swung by the H-E-B on the way back, then went straight to the gym.

After passing through my entire work week in a haze of post-travel tiredness and, to be honest, slight depression about leaving Boston and my friends and family behind, yesterday was pretty top. Hung out with some Austin friends and met a particularly interesting Australian pest control guy. Rewind that sentence a little, to clarify: this is a guy who lives currently near Houston but previously did pest control in Australia. So basically some kind of superhero. Through him I learned the Australian way to wear a hat and that their word for a “duster” is a “dry-as-a-bone.”

I also tried authentic Aussie Meat Pies and Sausage Rolls, and got my first taste of tim-tams ever all washed down with some Cooper’s Red, Cooper’s Stout and this one guy’s homebrew. All of it was delightful, and I had Homeslice Pizza for the first time afterwards which was also quite nice. I still need to try Torchy’s and Ramen Tatsu-Ya but at least I can check Homeslice off my list of “Austin places I always hear about and want to try but haven’t for some reason.”

So overall, I’ve had some ups and downs since getting back to Austin, but I will say at least I get to skip the winter weather!

For some reason I am beset with an overwhelming urge to get pizza despite my self-imposed Buff Buddies responsibilities (yesterday, as you may have gathered, was my cheat day) so I either need to just shut up and get pizza or start cooking so I’m committed to eating something else. Probably the latter. So off I go to make (and film?) my chicken stir fry!

My Week Back With A Mushy Brain

Leave a Reply

